Harold L. Holliday, Sr., the first African-American to receive a law degree from the University of Missouri-Kansas City in 1952. Born in Muskogee, Oklahoma, Holliday was a civil rights activist, economist, army officer, judge and politician who served in the Missouri House of Representatives. In 1941, Holliday earned a master’s degree in economics from the University of Michigan. He was first elected to the Missouri House of Representatives in 1964 and served the state for many years until retirement.

In his honor Harold L. Holliday, Sr. Montessori school is named after him located in Swope Park. The school was built specifically to Montessori standards, opening its doors in 1992 as the second Montessori magnet school in the Kansas City Public Schools.


Civil and Human Rights Committee members fulfill the local union’s commitment to assure member’s full rights regardless of religion, race, creed, color, sex, political affiliation, national origin, age disability, marital status or sexual orientation.

Bruce Drew- Chair
Patricia Trevino
Marquis Murphy
Latisha Dunnell